About

Register

“An internship is a rocket ship to a very different future.”

Michael Combs, CareerTrackers Founder

Our History

Endless opportunities.
Huge impact.

In an executive team meeting at the Sydney offices of his employer of the time – a large multinational tech company – Michael Combs looked around the room and asked ‘Where are the Indigenous people?’.

The rest of the team fumbled – they thought he was joking. He thought he needed to do something different.

On October 29, 2009, CareerTrackers was born – a national non-profit with the goal of creating pathways and support systems for Indigenous young adults to attend and graduate from university, with high marks, industry experience and bright professional futures.

Celebrating eleven years, hundreds of our participants have graduated from university. Each and every member of our Alumni community is employed in a professional role, with a median salary in their first year of $62,000. This year, our Alumni community will be made up of 1073 highly educated Indigenous professionals.

The success of the program has been recognised by employers, governments and, most importantly, Indigenous communities throughout Australia. CareerTrackers students complete university at higher rates than their non-Indigenous peers, and 95% of Alumni are in full-time employment in their field within three months of graduation.

The underpinning philosophy at CareerTrackers is ‘Students at the Core’. This means every decision we make in the delivery of the program focuses on the benefit to our students. We are proud to have built a community of CareerTrackers interns and Alumni that span thousands of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander households across Australia.

We see prosperous futures for our students and Alumni, who are quickly becoming leaders in their careers and communities.

The history of CareerTrackers

Our Board

Anita Lee Hong
Co-Chair

Craig Laslett
Co-Chair

Angus Dorney
Secretary

Brian Cahill
Honorary Treasurer

Jennifer Elliott
Executive Director

Michael McLeod
Non-Executive Director

Peta-Lee Moran
Non-Executive Director

Sharon Ridgway
Non-Executive Director

Todd Crawford
Non-Executive Director

Our Team

Jennifer Mar Young

Chief Executive Officer
jennifer.maryoung@ct.org.au

Vanessa Alford

Executive Assistant to CEO
vanessa.alford@ct.org.au

Angela To

Finance Manager
angela.to@ct.org.au

Carrie Sailor

Director, People & Engagement
carrie.sailor@ct.org.au

Sharon Hiserman

Director, University Program
sharon.hiserman@ct.org.au

Emma Guest

Partnerships Manager
emma.guest@ct.org.au

Olivia Wright

Technology Manager
olivia.wright@ct.org.au

Tara Croker

Marketing Manager
tara.croker@ct.org.au

Hana Hardo

Senior Scholarships Coordinator
hana.hardo@ct.org.au

Ali Hameed

IT Coordinator
ali.hameed@ct.org.au

Hala Shakkour

Scholarships Coordinator
hala.shakkour@ct.org.au

Michael Macahilig

Developer
michael.macahilig@ct.org.au

Robert Dihne

Accountant
robert.dihne@ct.org.au

Jacob Jaksa

Intern
jacob.jaksa@ct.org.au

NSW & ACT

Heather Wortes

Program Manager
heather.wortes@ct.org.au

Clancy Kees

Region Lead – Metro Sydney / PNG
clancy.kees@ct.org.au

Maddy Towler Lovell

Region Lead – South
madeleine.tl@ct.org.au

Maeve Mitchell

Advisor
maeve.mitchell@ct.org.au

Tahu Stanley

Advisor
tahu.stanley@ct.org.au

Zoe McCarthy

Advisor
zoe.mccarthy@ct.org.au

Cameron McMurtrie

Advisor
cameron.mcmurtrie@ct.org.au

Cara McGoldrick

Advisor
cara.mcgoldrick@ct.org.au

Olivia Maranesi

Advisor
olivia.maranesi@ct.org.au

Nicky Padden

Advisor
nicky.padden@ct.org.au

Sameera Patoor-Brah

Advisor
sameera.patoor-brah@ct.org.au

QLD & NT

Nikki Smith

Senior Advisor
nikki.smith@ct.org.au

Sasha Hunt

Senior Advisor
Parental Leave

Josh Maris

Advisor
josh.maris@ct.org.au

Luna Galaz

Advisor
luna.galaz@ct.org.au

Theresa Tupuola

Advisor
theresa.tupuola@ct.org.au

Zelma Woodhead

Advisor
zelma.woodhead@ct.org.au

Courtney Addison

Advisor
courtney.addison@ct.org.au

Darcee Duroux

Advisor
darcee.duroux@ct.org.au

SA, VIC & TAS

Erin Gear

Senior Advisor
erin.gear@ct.org.au

Elsha O’Reilly

Advisor
elsha.oreilly@ct.org.au

William Sullivan

Advisor
william.sullivan@ct.org.au

Elle Hannelly

Advisor
elle.hannelly@ct.org.au

Elijah Louttit

Advisor
elijah.louttit@ct.org.au

Janaya Callaghan

Advisor
janaya.callaghan@ct.org.au

WA

Sandra Hanlen

Program Manager
sandra.hanlen@ct.org.au

Melissa Madden

Advisor
melissa.madden@ct.org.au

High School

Alira Tufui

Program Manager
alira.tufui@ct.org.au

Ann-Maree Long

Senior Advisor
ann-maree.long@ct.org.au

Abbey Wright

Advisor
abbey.wright@ct.org.au