About

Register

“An internship is a rocket ship to a very different future.”

Michael Combs, CareerTrackers Founder

Our History

Endless opportunities.
Huge impact.

In an executive team meeting at the Sydney offices of his employer of the time – a large multinational tech company – Michael Combs looked around the room and asked ‘Where are the Indigenous people?’.

The rest of the team fumbled – they thought he was joking. He thought he needed to do something different.

On October 29, 2009, CareerTrackers was born – a national non-profit with the goal of creating pathways and support systems for Indigenous young adults to attend and graduate from university, with high marks, industry experience and bright professional futures.

Celebrating eleven years, hundreds of our participants have graduated from university. Each and every member of our Alumni community is employed in a professional role, with a median salary in their first year of $62,000. This year, our Alumni community will be made up of 1073 highly educated Indigenous professionals.

The success of the program has been recognised by employers, governments and, most importantly, Indigenous communities throughout Australia. CareerTrackers students complete university at higher rates than their non-Indigenous peers, and 95% of Alumni are in full-time employment in their field within three months of graduation.

The underpinning philosophy at CareerTrackers is ‘Students at the Core’. This means every decision we make in the delivery of the program focuses on the benefit to our students. We are proud to have built a community of CareerTrackers interns and Alumni that span thousands of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander households across Australia.

We see prosperous futures for our students and Alumni, who are quickly becoming leaders in their careers and communities.

The history of CareerTrackers

Our Board

Anita Lee Hong (Co-Chair)
General Manager, Gurriny Yealamucka Aboriginal Community Control Health Service

 

Craig Laslett (Co-Chair)
Managing Director, Leed Engineering and Construction

Angus Dorney (Secretary)
Co CEO, Kablamo

Brian Cahill (Honorary Treasurer)
Managing Director, Moody’s

Jennifer Elliott (Independent Director)

 

Michael McLeod
CEO, Message Stick Communications

Sharon Ridgway
Executive General Manager, People & Culture, Origin Energy

Our Team

Jennifer Elliott

Executive Director
jennifer.elliot@ct.org.au

Adam Davids

Director, Learning
adam.davids@ct.org.au

Andrew Veasey

Director, Finance & Ops
andrew.veasey@ct.org.au

Jessica Bulger

Director, Engagement
jessica.bulger@ct.org.au

Hannah Turnbull

Director, Program
hannah.turnbull@ct.org.au

Angela To

Financial Controller
angela.to@ct.org.au

Carrie Sailor

Talent Acquisition Manager
carrie.sailor@ct.org.au

 

Tiarne Shutt

Program Manager – Alumni
tiarne.shutt@ct.org.au

Ali Hameed

IT Coordinator
ali.hameed@ct.org.au

Hala Shakkour

Scholarships Coordinator
Parental Leave

Hana Hardo

Scholarships Coordinator
hana.hardo@ct.org.au

Michael Macahilig

Developer
michael.macahilig@ct.org.au

Olivia Wright

Program Performance Coordinator
olivia.wright@ct.org.au

Robert Dihne

Accountant
robert.dihne@ct.org.au

Jacob Jaksa

Intern
jacob.jaksa@ct.org.au

Murtaza Karimi

Intern
murtaza.karimi@ct.org.au

NSW & ACT

Heather Wortes

Program Manager
heather.wortes@ct.org.au

Clancy Kees

Senior Advisor
clancy.kees@ct.org.au

Lily Brouwer-French

Region Lead – Metro
lily.brouwer-french@ct.org.au

Maddy Towler Lovell

Region Lead – South
madeleine.tl@ct.org.au

Arabella Ollerenshaw

Advisor
arabella.ollerenshaw@ct.org.au

Maeve Mitchell

Advisor
maeve.mitchell@ct.org.au

Tahu Stanley

Advisor
tahu.stanley@ct.org.au

Zoe McCarthy

Advisor
zoe.mccarthy@ct.org.au

QLD & NT

Sharon Hiserman

Program Manager
sharon.hiserman@ct.org.au

Emma Guest

Region Lead – QLD NT
emma.guest@ct.org.au

Nikki Smith

Senior Advisor
nikki.smith@ct.org.au

Sasha Hunt

Senior Advisor
Parental Leave

Josh Acason

Advisor
josh.acason@ct.org.au

Josh Maris

Advisor
josh.maris@ct.org.au

Luna Galaz

Advisor
luna.galaz@ct.org.au

Tara Croker

Advisor
tara.croker@ct.org.au

Theresa Tupuola

Advisor
theresa.tupuola@ct.org.au

Zelma Woodhead

Advisor
zelma.woodhead@ct.org.au

SA, VIC & TAS

Talia Elliott

Program Manager
talia.elliott@ct.org.au

Erin Gear

Senior Advisor
erin.gear@ct.org.au

Taryn Littlejohn

Senior Advisor
taryn.littlejohn@ct.org.au

Elsha O’Reilly

Advisor
elsha.oreilly@ct.org.au

William Sullivan

Advisor
william.sullivan@ct.org.au

WA

Sandra Hanlen

Program Manager
sandra.hanlen@ct.org.au

Kristina Clark

Advisor
kristina.clark@ct.org.au

Larissa Andrews

Advisor
larissa.andrews@ct.org.au

Melissa Madden

Advisor
melissa.madden@ct.org.au

High School

Alira Tufui

Program Manager
alira.tufui@ct.org.au

Ann-Maree Long

Senior Advisor
ann-maree.long@ct.org.au

Abbey Wright

Advisor
abbey.wright@ct.org.au